Alberta Hockey Hall of Fame announces Class of 2019

By rdnewsNOW staff
March 8, 2019 - 11:13am

RED DEER – Five outstanding individuals, along with the only Alberta team to win back-to-back Memorial Cups, comprise the 2019 Induction Class for the Alberta Hockey Hall of Fame.

Hockey Alberta and the Hockey Alberta Foundation announced on Thursday the 2019 inductees who will be recognized at the AHHF Awards Gala on Sunday, July 21, at the Coast Hotel in Canmore:

Shirley Cameron – player, coach and builder of women’s hockey in Alberta

Theoren Fleury – NHL All-Star, Stanley Cup winner with the Calgary Flames and Olympic Gold Medalist

Kevin Lowe – six-time Stanley Cup champion with the Edmonton Oilers and two-time Olympic Gold Medalist

Duncan MacDougall – four decades of involvement with at the grassroots level of the officiating program in Edmonton

Bob Ridley – long-time play-by-play voice (and bus driver) of the Medicine Hat Tigers

Medicine Hat Tigers (1986-1987 and 1987-88) – two-time Memorial Cup champions, and the only Alberta team to win back-to-back Memorial Cups

The Alberta Hockey Hall of Fame recognizes those individuals, groups and teams who have made a significant contribution to the game of hockey in Alberta through regional, national, or international accomplishments, or who have contributed to the growth and development of the game in Alberta. 

(Hockey Alberta media release)

Red Deer gym sparring with Parkinson's disease

Join the Discussion

We are happy to provide a forum for commenting and discussion. Please respect and abide by the house rules: Keep it clean, keep it civil, keep it truthful, stay on topic, be responsible, share your knowledge, and please suggest removal of comments that violate these standards. See full commenting rules.