ACMA awards handed out in Red Deer

By Sheldon Spackman
January 28, 2019 - 10:56am

Red Deer’s Sheraton Hotel was the site of the Association of Country Music in Alberta’s (ACMA) annual awards show Sunday.

Award winners included Aaron Goodvin who took home Entertainer of the Year and Prairie States who won the 2018 Fan’s Choice award and Rising Star award.

Song of the Year was given to the Dungarees for Don’t Hold Back, written by James Murdoch and Darren Gusnowsky.

Video of the Year went to Nice Horse’s Mansplainin, with Nice Horse also winning Album of the Year for Songs for Georgia. The band was also acknowledged as Group of the Year Sunday night.

Elsewhere, Darcy Munro paid tribute to his father Bev Munro for the evening’s first Hall of Fame induction of the night, while Larry Donohue received the evening’s second Hall of Fame induction.

Dan Davidson was honoured with the 2018 Male Artist of the Year award, while Lauren Mayell took home Female Artist of the Year.

Mitch Jay was recognized as Musician of the Year, while the Horizon Youth award went to Krissy Feniak.

The final award of the evening was given to Renegade Station who won Single of the Year for Who’s Gonna Love You Tonight?

Other show highlights from Sunday included an opening performance from Red Deer’s own Duane Steele and another from Lacombe native Gord Bamford.

Royals RED Winterguard team opens season with first place finish

Join the Discussion

We are happy to provide a forum for commenting and discussion. Please respect and abide by the house rules: Keep it clean, keep it civil, keep it truthful, stay on topic, be responsible, share your knowledge, and please suggest removal of comments that violate these standards. See full commenting rules.