High school football league hands out year-end awards

By rdnewsNOW staff
December 5, 2018 - 9:19pm

Hunting Hills linebacker and running back Dolan Hills is the Central Alberta High School Football League City Most Valuable Player for 2018.

Hills claimed the honour Tuesday at the league awards in Drayton Valley.

Stettler Wildcats linebacker Justin Matchett was named Rural Division MVP.

Lindsay Thurber Raiders wide receiver Will Moir won Ross MacEachern Award as the Most Valuable Offensive Player in the City Division while Wetaskiwin Sabres running back Lucas Bishop won the Rural Division honours.

Defensive MVP for the city circuit was Lacombe Rams linebacker Ryker Lunn. Michael Bloomquist of the Ponoka Broncs won the rural honour.

Most Outstanding Lineman winners were Jacob Weller of Notre Dame in the City Division and H.J. Cody Lakers’ Ardan Kasha in the Rural Division.

Lacombe’s Richard Jans (City) and Ponoka’s Jared Bussiere (Ponoka) won the Top Special Teams Player awards.

Top rookies were Joel DeMale of Hunting Hills in the City Division and HJ Cody’s Reuben Braitenback in the Rural Division.

The following players were also selected as league all-stars:

Carson Neitz QB

Lincoln Carey OL

Gavin McQuay DB

Kelly Page S

Steele Nichols RB

Myles Ecklund DE

Declan McCord OL

Myles Niehaus OL

Justin Matchett LB

Warren Stewart-Brown RB

Ardan Kasha OL/ DL

Daxton Bylsma QB

Jacob Gauvin DB

Tristan Loewen OL/DL

Reuben Braitenback R/DB

Rees Degenhardt R/L

Aiden Brown R/DB

Terryl Sherman LB

Kevin Kittler OL

Drew Loosemore QB

Jared Bussiere RB/DB

Connor Stiles DB/K

Tade Tonneson SB/DB

Michael Bloomquist OL/LB

Jamie Kim DB/ST

Chase Melin SB/S

Mack Wallbank QB

Waylon Robb LB

Kade Smith LB

Josh Campbell QB

Jacob Brownell OL

Kaidyn Puttick LB/RB

Connor McRae DB

Alex Pennycook TE/LB

Tristan Ferguson DB

Ryker Lunn LB/C

Simon Gray WR/DE/K

Richard Jans SB/DE/P/KR

Turner Douglas SB/S

Andrei Paunescu LB

Dawson Gouda HB

Zach Schwab TB/C/KR

Eric Desilets

Tyler Zeniuk

Luc Lukalu

Lucas Bishop QB/DB/P

Nathan Wiebe RB/LB

Layden Armsden LB

Evan Roth R/DB/PR

Jake Emmerling OL/DL

Hayden Mimnagh LB/RB

Dawson Hallock LB/DE/OL

Matt Duhamel RB/LB

Will Farguson OL/DL

Brendin Holm OL

Chris Jaindl OL

Chase Lloyd LB

Haidan Brown QB

Nathan Fuerbringer DB/SB

Kyle Rees OL/DL

Donte Brown R/DB


Edmonton, Red Deer to co-host 2021 IIHF World Juniors

Join the Discussion

We are happy to provide a forum for commenting and discussion. Please respect and abide by the house rules: Keep it clean, keep it civil, keep it truthful, stay on topic, be responsible, share your knowledge, and please suggest removal of comments that violate these standards. See full commenting rules.