Innisfail-Sylvan Lake by-election called for July 12

By Troy Gillard (Twitter: @Troy_Gillard)
June 14, 2018 - 2:30pm

The writ has been dropped for two provincial by-elections, including one for Innisfail-Sylvan Lake.

The vote to choose a new MLA for the constituency will be held on Thursday, July 12. Advance voting will take place July 3 – 7.

The seat for the riding became vacant when Don MacIntyre resigned suddenly on February 5 after being charged with sexual assault and sexual interference. The case is working toward a resolution and is scheduled to return to court in Red Deer on January 11, 2019.

So far, three parties have announced their candidates for the by-election. The United Conservative Party is represented by Devin Dreeshen, the NDP by Nicole Mooney, and the Alberta Party by Abagail Douglass.

Reform Party leader Randy Thorsteinson was also planning to run in the by-election but was withdrawn.

A by-election has also called for the Fort McMurray-Conklin to fill the vacancy created by the resignation of former Wildrose leader Brian Jean.

UPDATE: Child's fire-play causes two-home fire in north Red Deer

Join the Discussion

We are happy to provide a forum for commenting and discussion. Please respect and abide by the house rules: Keep it clean, keep it civil, keep it truthful, stay on topic, be responsible, share your knowledge, and please suggest removal of comments that violate these standards. See full commenting rules.