Alberta Sports Hall of Fame honours Class of 2018

By rdnewsNOW staff
June 1, 2018 - 4:00pm

RED DEER- Eleven people and one team make up this year’s class of inductees for Alberta’s Sports Hall of Fame.

The 2018 induction ceremony pays tribute to a wide variety of athletes, sport builders and pioneers to be recognized for their outstanding contributions to athletics and their respective sports.



This year’s inductees include Olympic gold medalist and Stanley Cup Champion Theoren Fleury, six-time Olympic speed skating medalist Cindy Klassen, hockey builder Dave King, hockey athlete and builder Doug Barkley, basketball athlete Leighann Doan Reimer, ringette athlete Keely Brown, volleyball builder Dr. Lorne Sawula and, posthumously, basketball builder Phil Allen.

In addition, the 1989 and 1990 Calgary Colts Junior Football teams which won back-to-back Canadian Junior Football League Championships, Robert Davies receives this year's Pioneer Award for basketball.

Stuart Erskine receives the Achievement Award for Mountaineering and long-time local broadcaster Dianne Finstad is recognized with the Bell Memorial Award for her decades of dedicated coverage to rodeo and agriculture in Alberta.

This year’s inductees are being honoured at a banquet Friday night at the Sheraton Hotel in Red Deer.


Red Deer Arm Wrestling Club hosting qualifying tournament in Innisfail

Join the Discussion

We are happy to provide a forum for commenting and discussion. Please respect and abide by the house rules: Keep it clean, keep it civil, keep it truthful, stay on topic, be responsible, share your knowledge, and please suggest removal of comments that violate these standards. See full commenting rules.