Local football players selected for high school all-star game

By Sheldon Spackman
April 16, 2018 - 1:50pm

Seven high school football players from central Alberta are among 42 selected to play in the 29th Annual Senior Bowl High School Football All-Star Game at Foote Field in Edmonton next month.

The players were selected following the Senior Bowl ‘North’ Selection Camp held at Foote Field this past weekend. They will battle the ‘South’ team which will be selected following the ‘South’ Camp taking place at McMahon Stadium in Calgary April 20 -23.

The central Alberta players selected for the North team include Quarterbacks Jonathan Ericson (Lacombe) and Brandon Rees (Hunting Hills – Red Deer).

Receivers, Layton Barisenkoff (Hunting Hills – Red Deer), Matt Darnell (Lacombe) and Nathan LaVigne (Hunting Hills – Red Deer).

Linebacker, Kallen Vickery (Hunting Hills – Red Deer)

Defensive Back, Evan Aldrich (Lindsay Thurber – Red Deer)

Here is the complete list of players selected from the North camp to participate in the 29th Annual Senior Bowl High School Football All-Star Game May 21 at Foote Field in Edmonton:

“North” All-Star Team

(players listed alphabetically by position with high school)


Jonathan Ericson, Lacombe

Brandon Rees, Hunting Hills (Red Deer)



Atlas Blanchette-van Oploo, Eastglen (Edmonton)

Parker Cullum, Fort Saskatchewan

Ethan Menard, Archbishop O’Leary (Edmonton)



Layton Barisenkoff, Hunting Hills (Red Deer)

Matt Darnell, Lacombe

Nathan LaVigne, Hunting Hills (Red Deer)

Trevor Morris, Harry Ainlay (Edmonton)

Benjamin Philipenko, St. Francis Xavier (Edmonton)

Jake Withrow, Bev Facey (Sherwood Park)

Silas Yelenik, St. Joseph’s (Grande Prairie)

Austin Ziltner, (Leduc)



Logan Dobko, St. Joseph’s (Grande Prairie)

Kael King, Father Mercredi (Fort McMurray)

Kelvin Phung, Strathcona (Edmonton)

Daniel Shin, Strathcona (Edmonton)

Ryan Sielski, Bev Facey (Sherwood Park)

James Suranyi, Bellerose (St. Albert)

Kyle Theiss, (Lloydminster)



Joshua Irons, Bev Facey (Sherwood Park)

Cole Kauffeldt, Strathcona (Edmonton)

Khaldon Maghrby, Holy Trinity (Fort McMurray)

Jadon Williams, Strathcona (Edmonton)

Rhys Winder, (Peace River)



Scott Bereziuk, Ross Sheppard (Edmonton)

Matt Coogan, Bellerose (St. Albert)

D.J. Desutter, St. Joseph’s (Grande Prairie)

Chopper Hippe, Holy Rosary (Lloydminster)

Noah Perkins, Bev Facey (Sherwood Park)

Estaban Velazco-Lugo, Bev Facey (Sherwood Park)

Kallen Vickery, Hunting Hills (Red Deer)



Evan Aldrich, Lindsay Thurber (Red Deer)

Maurice Dubois, Jasper Place (Edmonton)

Trey Irwin, Strathcona (Edmonton)

Eli Klassen, Holy Rosary (Lloydminster)

Daniel Kovacs, St. Francis Xavier (Edmonton)

Garrett Musgrave, (Lloydminster)

Carlos Phelan, Ross Sheppard (Edmonton)

Ty Smith, Bev Facey (Sherwood Park)

James Thompson-Dick, Harry Ainlay (Edmonton)



Koen Klinge, St. Albert

Mounties and Emergency Services to drop the puck for Humboldt

Join the Discussion

We are happy to provide a forum for commenting and discussion. Please respect and abide by the house rules: Keep it clean, keep it civil, keep it truthful, stay on topic, be responsible, share your knowledge, and please suggest removal of comments that violate these standards. See full commenting rules.