RDC Cross-Country runners earn medals at ACAC Championships

By RDC Athletics
October 29, 2017 - 10:54am Updated: October 29, 2017 - 10:31pm

The Alberta Colleges Athletic Conference (ACAC) Cross-Country Running Championships wrapped up at Red Deer College on Saturday, and there were many memorable individual and team performances. 

The Red Deer College Queens (29 points) captured ACAC gold on their home course, the SAIT women (32 points) earned silver and the Lethbridge College (56 points) female runners picked up bronze. 

Jordanna Cota (24:13.03) ran another strong race and earned ACAC gold. Ricki Christopher (24:37.86), of SAIT, won silver and Sophia Nowicki (24:53.86), of Lethbridge College, finished the 6 kilometre race 16 seconds later and picked up bronze. Nowicki was also named the ACAC Cross-Country Female Rookie of the Year. 

The SAIT Trojans men had a dominant performance on Saturday. As a team, the Trojans (12 points) earned ACAC gold. The University of Alberta (Augustana) captured silver with 28 team points and the RDC Kings (63 points) picked up team bronze.

The men’s race featured a top three SAIT Trojans finish. Matt Travaglini (26:18.95) captured individual gold with an excellent performance. Teammates Jacques Saayman (27:33.50) picked up ACAC silver, and Darryl Ross (28:26.88) finished the 8 kilometre race in third place and captured bronze. Travaglini was named the ACAC Cross-Country Male Rookie of the Year.

Several top ACAC Cross-Country runners will participate at the Canadian Collegiate Athletic Association (CCAA) Cross-Country Running Nationals in Blainville, Quebec, November 10 – 11, 2017.

At the ACAC Cross-Country Running Awards Banquet, individuals, teams and coaches were celebrated at the Holiday Inn in Red Deer.

Men’s teams

1. SAIT (12 points)

2. UAA (28 points)

3. RDC (63 points)

Women's Teams

1. RDC (29 points)

2. SAIT (32 points)

3. Lethbridge College (56 points)

Men's Individuals

1. Matt Travaglini (SAIT) - 26:18.95

2. Jacques Saayman (SAIT) - 27:33.50

3. Darryl Ross (SAIT) - 28:26.88

Women's Individuals

1. Jordanna Cota (RDC) - 24:13.03

2. Ricki Christopher (SAIT) – 24:37.86

3. Sophia Nowicki (Lethbridge College) – 24:53.86

Male Cross-Country Runner of the Year

Matt Travaglini (SAIT)

Female Cross-Country Runner of the Year

Jordanna Cota (RDC)

Male Rookie of the Year

Brant Lauweryssen (SAIT)

Female Rookie of the Year

Sophia Nowicki (Lethbridge College)

ACAC Cross-Country Running Coach of the Year

Gerhard Lotz and Robert Renman – co-coaches at the University of Alberta (Augustana)

Men’s All-Conference team

1. Matt Tavaglini (SAIT) – 26:18.95

2. Jacque Saayman (SAIT) – 27:33.50

3. Darryl Ross (SAIT) – 28:26.88

4. Joedy Dalke (UAA) – 28:40.35

5. Brandon Wladyko (GPRC) – 29:00.73

6. Brant Lauweryssen (SAIT) – 29:16.72

7. Eric Rust (UAA) – 29:18.86

Women's All-Conference team

1. Jordanna Cota (RDC) - 24:13.03

2. Ricki Christopher (SAIT) – 24:37.86

3. Sophia Nowicki (Lethbridge College) – 24:53.86

4. Rebecca Johnson (STMU) – 25:02.69

5. Jill Stewart (RDC) – 25:03.82

6. Emily Spencer (Lethbridge College) – 25:06.26

7. Melanie McCann (SAIT) – 25:12.80

Male Grand Prix Winners

1. Matt Tavaglini (SAIT)

2. Jacque Saayman (SAIT)

3. Darryl Ross (SAIT)

4. Brandon Wladyko (GPRC)

5. Joedy Dalke (UAA)

6. Matt Martin (UAA)

7. Brant Lauweryssen (SAIT)

8. Adam Wass (RDC)

9. Michio Green (UAA)

10. Durell Rots (Lethbridge College)

Female Grand Prix Winners

1. Jordanna Cota (RDC)

2. Ricki Christopher (SAIT)

3. Sophia Nowicki (Lethbridge)

4. Jill Stewart (RDC)

5. Rebecca Johnson (St. Mary’s)

6. Kelcie Bulus (GPRC)

7. Emilie Mann (SAIT)

8. Elise Nawrocki (CUE)

9. Emily McIlroy (UAA)

10. Shaelyn Moltzahn (RDC)

RDC Athletics Sunday scoreboard

Join the Discussion

We are happy to provide a forum for commenting and discussion. Please respect and abide by the house rules: Keep it clean, keep it civil, keep it truthful, stay on topic, be responsible, share your knowledge, and please suggest removal of comments that violate these standards. See full commenting rules.