Swier, Brisbane Win RDC Athlete of the Year Honours

By Troy Gillard (Twitter: @Troy_Gillard)
April 25, 2016 - 9:22pm

Queens Hockey star Emily Swier and Kings Volleyball ace Luke Brisbane are Red Deer College's Athletes of the Year for 2015-16.

Swier took some time off following last season to get married before returning to lead her team in scoring as the Queens won the ACAC championship this season.

Swier beat out golf standout Katie Griffiths, soccer goalie Lauren Good and Emily White of Queens Basketball to win Female Athlete of the Year honours.

Brisbane was stellar in helping lead Kings Volleyball to a national title. He was named Tournament MVP at both provincials and nationals in addition to being pegged as a First Team All-Star at both events. He was also a CCAA Academic All-Canadian.

Brisbane was up against men's curling skip Ryan Dahmer and Kings Hockey goalie Mike Salmon for this year's Male Athlete of the Year Award.

Also honoured Monday night was Brian Stackhouse. Retiring after 41 years as RDC's cross-country running team coach, Stackhouse received this year's CCAA Coaching Excellence Award, which is presented each year to one coach across all sports in Canada.

Other winners honoured on RDC Athletics Awards Night...

Team Service Awards
Kings basketball: assistant coach Clint Unsworth.
Queens basketball: manager Aaneli Zemlak.
Cross-country running: assistant coaches Stephanie Flieler, Courtney Long, Kari Elliot, Jodi Nesbitt.
Curling: assistant coach Jason Anderson.
Kings hockey: assistant coach Cody Reynolds.
Queens hockey: assistant coaches Megan Abt, Wes Makofka, Laura Salomons.
Queens soccer: assistant coaches Katrina Loiselle, Moria Duley.
Kings volleyball: assistant coach Blake Henwood.
Queens volleyball: assistant coach Mandy Carroll.

Student Trainers Awards

Kings basketball: Grant Buchanan, Nic Regehr.
Kings volleyball: Jessika Cobb, Stephanie Marchinko.
Queens hockey: Daelyn Cooper, Bea Landaverde
Queens soccer, volleyball and Kings hockey: Alyse Fitzpatrick.
Queens volleyball: Shawna Macdonald.
Queens basketball: Kyra Paulgaard, Jordyn Saxton.
Kings soccer: Jose Ribeiro.
Kings hockey: Sydni Seibel, Norm Slater.

Team Awards

Kings basketball: JP LeBlanc, coach`s award (CA); Matt Matear, most improved (MI), Rodney Teal, rookie of the year (R), Anthony Ottley, most valuable player (MVP).

Queens basketball: Kennedy Burgess (CA), Anna Houtman (MI), Eva Bonde (R), Emily White (MVP)

Cross-country-Indoor track: Jonathan Allan (CA), Melissa Ray (MI), Amy Severtson (R), Jordanna Cota (MVP)

Curling: Jeff Ireland (CA), Julie Selvais (MI), Sara McMann (R), Ryan Dahmer (MVP)

Golf: Rochelle French (CA), Kyle Antochow (MI), Grant Numrich (R), Kate Griffith (MVP)

Kings hockey: Tanner Butler (CA), Ben Williams (MI), Dylan Thudium (R), Riley Simpson (MVP)

Queens hockey: Suze Vanderlinde (CA), Kirsten Brown (MI), Julia Wing (R), Emily Swier (MVP)

Kings soccer: Alim Hirji (CA), Alex Brezovan (MI), Turner Johnson (R), Julius Abegar (MVP)

Queens soccer: Alexandra Moyer (CA), Sydney Daines (MI), Krysten Strand (R), Lauren Good (MVP)

Kings volleyball: Tom Lyon (CA), Ty Morrman (MI), Michael Sumner (R), Luke Brisbane (MVP)

Queens volleyball: Hanna Delemont (CA), McKenna Barthel (MI), Jessica Jones (R), Kelsey Tymkow (MVP)

Long-time RDC Cross-Country Coach Wins Award Upon Retirement

Join the Discussion

We are happy to provide a forum for commenting and discussion. Please respect and abide by the house rules: Keep it clean, keep it civil, keep it truthful, stay on topic, be responsible, share your knowledge, and please suggest removal of comments that violate these standards. See full commenting rules.